5 Spiritual rituals that changed my perspective on life forever.

Aham Brahmasmi
6 min readAug 14, 2021

Spirituality awakening.

credits to raimond-klavins , Unsplash.com

I was born into an orthodox and religious family. To be precise I am a Hindu Brahmin. When I was a child and teenager, I came across a lot of religious rituals and rigid tradition-oriented discipline in our family. Few examples of the rituals are:

  • Being a Teetoler and Non-smoker,
  • Being a VEGETARIAN
  • Lighting sesame oil lamp in an earthen pot,
  • waking up before Dawn hits.
  • Doing Japa ( chanting with prayer beads),
  • Sandhyavandanam Salutation to the goddess of Dawn and dusk ( Sun salutation),
  • Pranayama ( breathing exercise) during puja,
  • Devatha Aradhana ( Conducting a lengthy prayer with the food offering in sacred clothes).
  • Sacred cleaning and cooking in the kitchen.
  • Offering food to God first and many more,

All of these rituals never made great sense to me until I moved to a different country and started living on my own. I believe in God, but I felt that people were wasting time in these religious rituals, assuming that God is watching them 24/7. I was completely wrong and ignorant in that regard.

--

--

Aham Brahmasmi

Hi! I am Resh. A digital nomad, Investor, UX Designer, Philosopher, Manifestor, Aspiring entrepreneur, Fitness freak, and a Mom